monocyte's blog

I'm ditching spotify

spotify is legal piracy. you can listen to most of your music by just paying a small amount and most of that doesn't go to the artist. hell with the rise of AI, enshittification got to a level that it never has before. I just don't want to be a part of that anymore.

there is also another reason I'm doing this. having physical files of your collection feels great. you can take your music collection anywhere you want, convert it to any format you wish and use any music player you fancy. it is at times a bit time consuming but I enjoy growing my collection and not having to throw money at a faceless company just to keep listening to my music.

spotify meme

how I manage it

I download most of my music as flacs then convert it to opus at 160kbps. the ones I couldn't get as flacs stay as mp3s. I store them in an SD card and use poweramp as my music app. I am not really settled on it yet, so recommendations are welcome.

I use last.fm and regular old internet browsing for recommendations. I never really used spotifys recommendation algorithm to begin with, because i value a passionate music fans words more than an algorithm.

notes

you can also take a look at kit's post for an artists perspective on why spotify is shitty as a platform. kit puts it into words better than I ever could.

reply via email

liked this post? you can follow my rss feed for more. i'd also appreciate if you toasted this post below. 🍞